The Houses in Your Astrology Birth Chart

The Houses in Your Astrology Birth Chart

Understanding the 12 houses in your astrology birth chart will deepen your understanding of your birth chart. The houses in your birth chart rule different areas of our lives. From the relationships we'll have with others to the careers we can succeed most in. The planets represent action, affection, and communication. The birth chart houses can tell us where in our lives we'll feel them most intensely. Planets move through the houses in the same way they do with signs.

Intercepted Houses

Some birth charts do not have an axis line numbering their houses. Because of this, they may skip over an entire house, causing the houses to look wider. If you have two signs in one house, this is not an interception as this happens naturally.

Interceptions happen when the house has a degree larger than 30 because the orb is maxed at 30. So, because of this, one sign occupies the entire intercepted house. Unless using whole signs (equal house system), all astrology houses are not the same size. The further you are from the Earth's equator, the greater size house you will have.

If you do have an intercepted chart, this shows that you have a struggle unlocking the qualities of the cusp sign. Because it can be hard expressing that energy to your greatest advantage, it’s a real set-back but it’s not locked that way for life. You are the creator of your own fate and destiny. So by seeing an intercepted house in your natal chart just gives you the upper hand in mastering that energy, as you’re supposed to.

Whichever cusp sign is involved with the interception, this sign is unevolved and needs releasing. Over time, the negative qualities of the cusp sign begin to act out so your repressed energy builds and builds with no healthy release mechanism. If you have an intercepted sign, the other side of the interception will always be the opposing sign. If Aries is intercepted and occupying house 12, 1, and 2, that would mean Libra is intercepted and occupying house 6, 7, and 8.

1st House: House of Aries

The first house is an angular house. Its natural sign ruler is Aries and its natural planetary ruler is Mars. This house represents the image we project to others and the first impression we make. It's how we start things, our defense mechanisms, our relationship with our immediate environment. It is even our general outlook on life, and our physical appearance.

2nd house: House of Taurus

The second house's natural sign ruler is Taurus and its natural planetary ruler is Venus. Money and personal finances, sense of self-worth and basic values, and personal possessions are all found in this house. So this is a good house to look at involving careers. This house will show us where our values are in the material world and how to make use of it.

3rd house: House of Gemini

The third house ruler is Gemini and its natural planetary ruler is Mercury. This house also represents our communication, interactions in our immediate environment. It is the relationships with siblings and neighbors, short trips, writing and speaking, and how we formulate our thoughts. Looking at the third house can also represent how well one does with studying and in school.

4th house: House of Cancer

Its natural sign ruler is Cancer and its natural planetary ruler is the Moon. This house shows our childhood roots, family, home life, instinctive behavior. It also shows the mother or “maternal” parent/caregiver, ancestry, and our connection with our past. It looks at our sense of security and how we react to things.

5th House: House of Leo

The fifth house's natural sign ruler is Leo and its natural planetary ruler is the Sun. This house represents our creative self-expression, our pleasure and entertainment, hobbies. It's the attitude towards romance, romantic relationships, and your attitude towards having fun, drama, adornments and costumes. This house also represents how you can play a role in your children's life as well

6th house: House of Virgo

The sixth house natural sign ruler is Virgo and its natural planetary ruler is Mercury. This is another great house to take into consideration when it comes to career. This house represents your work and job, techniques and methods, daily life, order, self-improvement. It also focuses on health, nutrition, attitude towards food, service, attitude towards service and co-workers and routine. This shows us how we refine and perfect ourselves.

7th house: House of Libra

Its natural sign ruler is Libra and its natural planetary ruler is Venus. Through the 7th house we can find our companionship, the alter ego, partnerships. This is the house of one-to-one relationships, marriage, divorce, our “shadow self”, lawyers, mediators, counselors, and contracts.

8th house: House of Scorpio

The eighth house natural sign ruler is Scorpio and its natural planetary ruler is Pluto. This house represents transformation and crisis, our attitude towards crisis and change. It deals with sexuality, sex, death and rebirth, regeneration, our partner’s resources, addictions, psychology, others’ money, taxes, endings, and inheritance.

9th house: House of Sagittarius

The ninth house natural sign ruler is Sagittarius and its natural planetary ruler is Jupiter. In this house, we can find our personal belief system, our sense of adventure, exploration. We look here to find personal philosophy, higher education, long-distance travel, morals, foreign languages and cultures, personal truths, and publishing.

10th house: House of Capricorn

Its natural sign ruler is Capricorn and its natural planetary ruler is Saturn. This house shows career and profession, our personal image to society, material success, achievement. It also shows authority figures, paternal figures, the father or most “paternal” parent/caregiver. It can even represent bosses, governments, attitude towards responsibility, and attitude towards abiding by the law. This is the main house to look at for insight on your career.

11th house: House of Aquarius

The eleventh house natural sign ruler is Aquarius and its natural planetary ruler is Uranus. This house shows our acquaintances and friends, groups, organizations. It also shows hopes, wishes, aspirations, personal goals, our sense of our true inner purpose, and humanity. This house shows how we interact in group gatherings and how we express ourselves in our friendship circles. It shows the friends you'll attract as well. This house also represents your rebellious side and shows your creative ideas and inventions.

12th house: House of Pisces

The twelfth house natural sign ruler is Pisces and its natural planetary ruler is Neptune. This is the house of karma, self-undoing, soul growth, hidden strengths. It also rules hidden weaknesses, dreams, private affairs, lost items, hospitals and prisons, spiritual studies and intuition. This house shows our gut reaction to things and where our minds drift off to.